Central - Trinity Bellwoods

image

Trinity- Bellwoods takes its name from Trinity Bellwoods Park, built around the former Garrison Creek ravine. The park is bounded on the north by Dundas Street West and on the south by the Queen Street West district. The park sports a range of environments, including tennis courts, a playground, a hockey rink, a dog walking bowl, a grove, a range of picnic tables, a greenhouse, a community center, and a swimming pool. The northwestern panhandle is home to a farmer's market on Tuesday afternoons from spring to fall.
Surrounding the park and with a long history, Trinity-Bellwoods has become one of Toronto’s more desirable and vibrant communities.  It offers a cool selection of restaurants and retail stores.
This park was the original site of Trinity College, one of the colleges that now make up the University of Toronto. The college building, which was completed in 1852, stood roughly at the centre of the park, and remained there for just over 100 years. Today the only remaining artifacts of the school are its restored gates at the south end of the park.
By 1900, the college and its picturesque surroundings attracted residential development. Most of the surrounding streets were filled in with tall, narrow houses of the 
Bay-and-gable or Gothic Revival style characteristic of much of Toronto's housing stock from that era. A number of fine homes from the period are scattered throughout the neighborhood. During the 20th century the neighborhood became a landing site for immigrants of various nationalities, setting a pattern for the next six to seven decades. From the 1920s and 1930s the area became home to many Polish and Ukrainian immigrants; the Bathurst-Queen area was the heart of the city's Polish and Ukrainian communities until the 1960s. By the 1960s, the area had become popular among the immigrants from Portugal, who now define much of the neighborhood's character. In recent years, the area has become home to many Chinese immigrants.
The businesses along Ossington Avenue just north of Queen Street have changed in the last decade, with former sports bars and social clubs becoming trendy restaurants, bars and cafes. Some of this conversion has been due to higher commercial rents along Queen Street relative to Ossington Avenue properties. 
Real Estate
It is great place to live for families, great for singles, a lively community with interesting renovations, some high-end renovations and lots of walkable things to do for young and old.
Education
Schools in the area:

  •  Pope Francis Catholic School, Elementary
  •  Niagara Public School
  •  Westside Montessori School
  •  Orde Street Jr PSElementary SchoolsJunior High & High Schools
  • Charles G Fraser Jr. PS, 79 Manning Ave., tel. 416.393.1830
  • Givins/Shaw Jr. PS, 49 Givins St., tel. 416.393.1240
  • Senhor Santo Cristo Catholic School, 30 Humbert St., tel. 416.393.5367
  • Ecole Elementaire Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau, 65 Grace St., tel. 416.397.2097
  • St. Luke Separate School, 319 Ossington Ave.,tel. 416.393.5347
  • Ossington/Old Orchard Jr. PS, 380 Ossington Ave., tel. 416.393.0710
  • Oasis Alternative, 3rd floor, 20 Brant St., tel. 416.393.9830
  • St. Mary's Catholic Secondary School, 66 Dufferin Park Ave., tel. 416.393.5528
  • Harbord CI, 286 Harbord St., tel. 416.393.1650
  • Central Toronto Academy, 570 Shaw St., tel. 416.393.0030